25
Jun
13

Carbgasm

Oh come on, don’t tell me you’ve never had one.

As you might guess I finished the CBL induction phase today with a big ol’ workout followed by a tsunami of glucose and its polymers.  A few posts ago I mentioned that I hadn’t come across anything to mitigate the flat drudgery of ketosis induction; well, this time around I loaded up on creatine throughout the process (~15g per day), and while it didn’t make ketone adaptation any more fun it at least preserved a lot of my strength.  Provided that I kept the sets short (~3 reps) I was able to maintain some pretty good volume and intensity, even reducing rest times.

In keeping with what I said about n=1 experiments on drinking and keto/carb loading: After Thursday’s workout I weighed in around 176.  Friday I got together with friends and drank a bunch of bourbon.  Saturday I got together with different friends and drank a bunch of whiskey.  Sunday and Monday I ate clean and stayed sober — two hangovers in a row does that to me.  After today’s lifting I clocked in right around 171.  I imagine that the vast majority of that weight loss is water, but then again keto induction induces water loss regardless.  At any rate I didn’t handicap my progress.

Also, I don’t remember sushi ever tasting as good as it did post-workout this evening.

So let’s see how CBL goes.

4 Responses to “Carbgasm”


  1. June 26, 2013 at 01:07

    Given that I’m in week 3 of my cut at the moment, I’ve decided to add some alcohol data-points too.
    I haven’t just been doing Bourbon though. Instead I’m cycling Bourbon, Scotch and Irish in an attempt to avoid overdosing or acclimatizing to any one of them.
    Data to follow…

    • June 26, 2013 at 07:32

      Sounds like a reasonable cycle. The main reason I’m focusing on bourbon is that the good stuff is less horrendously overpriced in Vancouver than, say, a bottle of single malt.

      I think I’ll give it a week or two of sober carb-ups before adding in some beers, just so I can establish a decent baseline.

      • June 30, 2013 at 20:42

        After losing 2 kg/week for the first 2 weeks, my third week was flat.
        I suspect the problem was using low grade blended Scotch (Chivas Regal) instead of single malt the way nature intended.
        Lagavulin for week 4!

        • July 1, 2013 at 11:21

          Yeah, my metabolism’s been an inscrutable jerk this past week. Popped up to 173-174 after my first carb-up and stayed there. Not sure if that’s me running the carb-ups too heavy and erasing my calorie deficit, or a ton of muscle glycogen, creatine, and water, or my “favourite” metabolic dick move, otherwise-empty adipocytes filling up with water. If I’d been doing this for longer I’d probably be able to tell by checking the mirror, but I don’t have that context yet.

          “A week or two of sober carb-ups” lasted about four days. Problem with these A/B/A trials is that I apparently have too many friends.


Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


