07
Nov
12

Supplement roundup

Well, we’re settling into what I hope is at least a twenty-month post-electile refractory period.  Do you want to hear about the shit I shove down my gullet in pursuit of  a 405 squat and getting jacked?  Of course you do.

  1. The Usual Suspects.  Whey isolate protein powder, creatine monohydrate, beta alanine, fish oil, D3 gelcaps.  If you’re not taking this stuff… why?!  They are all cheap like borscht and demonstrably effective.  Even if you get no more exercise than thumbing the remote every thirty seconds these supplements will make you look better nekkid, and you might find yourself actually feeling better too.  I consider this the minimum buy-in.
  2. Waxy Maize.  It looks like drywall dust and tastes like sawdust.  It’s also 45g of amylopectin  straight into your workout shake.  I’m doing Cheat Mode carb {back,re}loading and this stuff does a much better job of kickstarting the post-workout insulin party than the couple teaspoons of Gatorade powder I used to use.  It’s probably overhyped and overpriced for what it is, but in the absence of credible competitors I’ll take what I can get.  If you’re not carb cycling I don’t see why you should care.
  3. L-Carnitine L-tartrate.  You might’ve googled creatine and beta alanine way back in list item 1., and if you did you might’ve read that they’re potential nootropics — that is, they might make you smarter.  I’ve never felt smarter after supplementing with either, although I have noticed that thirty-rep squat sets and hill sprint ladders feel like less of a stupid idea when I’m topped up on those two.  L-carnitine, though, holy shit.  I can’t vouch for it as an ergogenic so much, but holy fuck can I focus after 2g of the stuff.  I wish I’d known about L-carnitine in grad school.  Scratch that; I wish I’d been gilled up on the stuff since junior high.
  4. ZMA.  I go back and forth on this stuff, but work gave me more money so I figured I’d buy another bottle and see how it goes.  So far I’m not entirely convinced that all I’m doing is making my pee more expensive.
  5. Melatonin.  Do you like sleep?   Yes you do.  A seven dollar bottle will last you half a year.  Why would you not.
  6. Leucine.  Maybe it’s just the L-carnitine making me think that repping out on deadlifts after a heavy single is a good idea, but I’m three workouts into this stuff, I’m up a pound of scale weight, and my belt’s looser.  I hesitate to say that this branched-chain amino acid is Fucking Magic after a mere week of exposure, but signs sure are encouraging.  The research sure is clear that leucine is a safe bet to be some kind of useful, in any case; it’s just a question of whether it’s fifty bucks a month useful.

Not quite sure where to put Wild Turkey in that list.

3 Responses to “Supplement roundup”


  1. November 8, 2012 at 08:57

    Here’s Examine’s page on L-Carnitine. Looks like I’m going to have to add it to my list. Thanks!

    http://examine.com/supplements/L-Carnitine/


Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


