20
Mar
12

The future’s pretty great

Alex Tabarrok finds this awesome quotation from Pascal-Emmanuel Gobry:

If you had asked an 11-year-old Jeff Bezos to let his imagination run wild and think of the stuff that he would most dream to have as an adult, he might have said:

Of course any adult would have smiled slightly condescendingly, patted him on the head and helpfully explained that these things aren’t possible.

1 Response to “The future’s pretty great”


  1. 1 John
    March 21, 2012 at 03:44

    In the early 90’s, when people thought web they thought of spiders, I discovered IRC and gopher. I was talking to people all over the world; I was getting information faster that I could have from the BBS’s that I frequented; I saw the huge potential in the internet back then. When my parents asked me what I was doing I told them and what I thought about it they said that it was all a waste of time. I think it took my mom till about 2004 to finally accept that the whole WWW was here to stay.


Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


