20
Dec
11

So that’s what I’ve been missing

Every once in a while I’ll get into an argument about the value of a liberal arts education vs. the hyperspecialized STEM degrees I own.  Dr. Hirta finally points out what I’ve been missing: interdisciplinary research opportunities!

This paper includes phrases such as: “the interface and the predicate share responsibility” and “the traditional taxonomies of digital epistemology unwisely subjugate and oftentimes irrationally edit data.” We cite Henri Bergson.

How many drinks for each use of “epistemology”?

Fortunately, due to my secret past as an English major, I can keep up with this non-scientific collaboration, and I can write hundreds of words about big ideas while using a suitable collection of jargon.

I like to think that I’m pretty good with words, but “the interface and the predicate share responsibility” threw me for a loop.  I can’t for the life of me fathom how an “interface” and a “predicate” can appear as agents in the same system, barring a Prolog implementation I suppose.

Remember, folks: the humanities are important for improving communication skills, and being able to communicate effectively is a critical job skill no matter what your industry might be.  I’m not entirely sure what “the interface and the predicate share responsibility” is trying to communicate to me, but that’s obviously my fault.

0 Responses to “So that’s what I’ve been missing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


