20
Dec
11

Dumbfuckery: I haz it

So I’m in desktop upgrade hell again, now that I’ve discovered one can get 16GB of pretty decent RAM for less than three figures.  Among other things, I picked up an Antec Three Hundred case, which makes me want to have Antec’s babies.

The first sign of trouble was that I reassembled the beast last night, when I was dead tired in a sleep-deprived zombie fashion.  Naturally, the case came with more (brass) motherboard standoffs than I needed, but I decided to screw them all in anyway.  After all, I reasoned, giving the mobo better mechanical support is probably a good thing, right?  Those extra standoffs will brace the thing nicely.

Oh, and short the traces on the bottom of the PCB.

No wonder the thing wouldn’t even POST when I tried to repave it this morning.

I’ll just turn in my geek card now.

8 Responses to “Dumbfuckery: I haz it”


  1. 1 Dave
    December 20, 2011 at 14:03

    Never let the smoke out – It is reallllllly hard to get back in…

  2. 3 madrocketscientist
    December 20, 2011 at 14:33

    ROTFLMFAO!

    Sorry man, have to point & laugh. It’s required by Geek Law.

  3. December 21, 2011 at 10:15

    Since any other so-called geeks aren’t stepping up, I’ll wave the flag of solidarity and cop to having done the same thing before. I know damn well they have too.

    I’ll even go one better. At one point I was building a box for-real for-money. Somehow, and it still confuses me to this day since no soldering was involved, I managed to get a small loop of soldering wire stuck behind the motherboard, which served similarly as a shorting point. Yeah, no idea how that happened, but drove me utterly bugnuts trying to figure out.

    • 8 madrocketscientist
      December 21, 2011 at 16:46

      I’ve never shorted out a card or mainboard, but I have tried to shove the wrong CPU into a socket & bent enough pins to learn to never do that again. As well as a few liquid based computer disasters, dropped drives, etc.


Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


