06
Apr
11

Piled it higher and deeper

I successfully defended my PhD thesis this morning.

Your regularly-scheduled wharrgarbl will return once I’ve caught up on sleep.

19 Responses to “Piled it higher and deeper”


  1. April 6, 2011 at 18:09

    Congrats! And now the job market.

  2. April 7, 2011 at 05:26

    Congrats! Nothing like that feeling, is there?

  3. 3 aczarnowski
    April 7, 2011 at 05:28

    Huzzah!

  4. 4 Tam
    April 7, 2011 at 07:57

    As a friend once put it to me “This time tomorrow, I’ll officially be twice as smart as I am today!” :D

  5. 6 MadRocketScientist
    April 7, 2011 at 13:00

    Congrats! W00T! W00T!

  6. April 7, 2011 at 16:13

    Way to go, Doc! What’s scheduled for post-doctorate research?

  7. 9 John
    April 7, 2011 at 17:33

    Congratulations! Out of curiosity, what was your thesis?

  8. April 7, 2011 at 19:21

    Thanks, folks! It sure feels good to have my heart rate back into the double digits. The rest is essentially paperwork.

    Peter: I’m hoping to find honest employment, ideally in the visual-effects industry here in Vancouver. I’ll take a couple years to level up my private-sector credentials and reassess.

    John: I won’t bore you with the details, but essentially I’m looking at efficient ways to find and exploit silhouette curves on 3D models. On the surface of a model, silhouettes are usually defined as edges that separate front-facing and back-facing regions with respect to a given viewpoint. Things get more exciting when your model is a set of points from a laser scanner, and you don’t have edges.

    • 11 John
      April 8, 2011 at 03:34

      Gotcha. I’m a CS major (undergrad) myself, so I was wondering if it was something I might know a little about already. I don’t, but it does sound interesting. God I have so long to go. :/

  9. 12 perlhaqr
    April 8, 2011 at 09:44

    *throws the horns*

  10. April 9, 2011 at 13:25

    Congratulations, Doctor.
    .


Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


