25
Jan
11

Beers of Vancouver, vol. 23

The latest beer-nerd beer to show up at my friendly local liquor store is Estrella Damm’s Inedit, a Spanish wit beer infused with spices and apparently designed to be paired with food.  Its flavour and mouth feel are something of a cross between Hoegaarden and a Trappist abbey ale, only substantially less forceful.  Its aftertaste is very faint and probably spicy, and lingers for longer than I can be arsed to pay attention but doesn’t interfere with anything else you might be doing.  Yes, it’s kind of cloudy, but not so cloudy as to intimidate a habitual lager drinker.

It’s not awful beer for the price I paid, and I don’t feel cheated, but I’m probably not going to buy it again.  The enthusiastically sophisticated marketing campaign, dark wine-like bottle, and general sense of self-importance with which this beer is presented to we drinkers is pretty amusing in contrast to Inedit‘s ordinariness, but it’s decent enough beer that I don’t feel like mocking them.  Much.

4 Responses to “Beers of Vancouver, vol. 23”


  1. 1 Petey
    January 26, 2011 at 07:55

    I won a bottle of Inedit in a moustache contest last year. My wife said “I could drink this every day; don’t ever buy a bottle.” I think it’s just a white wine drinkers beer.

    • January 26, 2011 at 12:16

      Well, it’s a Mk. 1 mod 0 Belgian-style witbier, competently but not spectacularly executed by a Spanish brewery. Maybe you can bring home a sixer of Hoegaarten instead. :-)


Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


