28
Sep
10

Cursing in NZ: Not a big fuckin’ deal

If this is representative of a global trend, I’ll need to up my game:

Respondents were asked whether the use of each term was “unacceptable”. Restricting ourselves to the words included in all years, the average “unacceptability” rate was 43% in 1999 and 32% in 2009. The most offensive and least offensive terms on that list showed the same five percentage point decrease in offensiveness, but the f-bomb showed a nineteen percentage point drop over the period: only 51 percent deemed it unacceptable in 2009.

[…]

What does this all mean though:

  • If you want to be offensive, you need to ramp things up. Be more creative; combine existing offensive terms in new and amplifying ways. I’m thinking Deadwood, but less anachronistic.

If anyone needs me, I’ll be watching R. Lee Ermey clips on youtube and taking notes.

3 Responses to “Cursing in NZ: Not a big fuckin’ deal”


  1. September 28, 2010 at 13:57

    I’d put your bit on GE potatoes in my shared feed; at the end of it, you invite critics to eat a big bowl of dick. Now, I’d have gone with the Deadwoodean “And he who disagrees sucks cock willingly”, but potato potahto. Couple folks commented on the shared item that I ought to have put a bit of warning about the picture of the bowl of dicks, but I don’t mind giving the occasional surprise.

  2. September 29, 2010 at 17:06

    Be more creative; combine existing offensive terms in new and amplifying ways.

    I find it’s usually effective to combine a profanity with a mundane word that shares a vowel sound. Favorites include “fuck nugget” and “shit biscuit”.


Leave a reply; use raw HTML for markup. Please blockquote quotations from the post or other comments.

anarchocapitalist agitprop

Be advised

I say fuck a lot

Categories

Archives

Statistics FTW


